The Early Years Foundation Stage

What is the EYFS?

At The Bungalow Preschool all staff follow the Early Years Foundation Stage. The EYFS sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

During your child’s time at nursery your child will mostly be taught through games and play both indoors and outdoors. Staff will provide a range of resources and plan activities so they can observe children’s learning and development in the seven areas of learning and development.

The EYFS is broken down into seven different areas of learning:

Prime Areas

Specific Areas

Children learn best where their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents/ carers. We therefore encourage all parents/ carers to get involved in their child’s online learning journal.

If you would like to find out some further information on the EYFS please follow the link below. The link is a guide from the Deartment of Education to help you find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS:
'What To Expect, When?' - EYFS Parental Guide